Instruments of Communion

The Anglican Communion is served by four "Instruments of Communion" and the work of these instruments are explained here in detail.

Archbishops of Canterbury

The 105th Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Revd and Rt Hon Justin Welby, was enthroned on the 21st March, 2013. His immediate predecessor was the Rt Revd Lord Williams of Oystermouth. The Archbishops of Canterbury are seen by the Anglican Communion of churches as their spiritual leader. He is primus inter pares, first among equals of the other Primates (Chief Archbishops, Presiding Bishops) of the various provinces. He is the Primate of All England and Diocesan of the Diocese of Canterbury. His "seat" is in Canterbury Cathedral where there is also "St Augustine's Chair" that marks the significance of Canterbury to Anglicans.  … More

Lambeth Conferences

The Lambeth Conference of bishops meets every 10 years solely at the personal invitation of the Archbishop of Canterbury. In 1867 Lambeth Palace hosted the first meeting but as the numbers grew the conference moved to Canterbury, where in 2008, the invited bishops will once again gather at Christ Church Cathedral and the University. A design group assists the Archbishop in the planning of the conference. There are appointed staff members as well as co-operative efforts of many people that support the Archbishop of Canterbury's own ministry, at Canterbury, the Anglican Communion Office, Church House and more. The Secretary General of the Anglican Communion serves as the secretary of the conference with a designated Conference Manager. … Go to external web site

Primates Meetings

The Primates of the Anglican Communion are the chief Archbishops, Presiding Bishops, Chief Pastors of the various Provinces of the global church. Their churches are autonomous yet inter-dependent in their relationships with each other. The Archbishop of Canterbury chairs their meetings, which are held at varying intervals at various places in the Anglican World. The primates have no authority as a "body" and their own national churches determine how their ministry is carried out in their own context. The customs and responsibilities vary from Province to Province. … More

Anglican Consultative Council

The Anglican Consultative Council (ACC) can rightly be seen as the most representative body of gathered Anglicans amongst the Instruments of Communion. In their ranks are members of the laity, bishops, priests, deacons and religious. The meetings are held in various provinces, by invitations, every 2-3 years. The ACC has byelaws and a constitution and through its networks and programmes seeks to serve the varying needs of its member churches on an international scale. There is a chair, vice-chair and standing committee elected by the members. Individual provinces select their ACC representatives in different ways. The Archbishop of Canterbury is the President the ACC. … More