The Windsor Report 2004

Part III: Commitments of Communion

Article 9: Catholicity and Common Good of the Anglican Communion

  1. Each church shall act in a manner compatible both with its belonging to the One, Holy, Catholic and Apostolic Church, and with its membership of the Anglican Communion.
  2. In all essential matters of common concern in the Anglican Communion, no member church shall act without consideration of the common good of the Communion and fundamental compliance with all of the Parts of this Covenant.

Article 10: Obligations of Confession of the Faith

Each church shall:

  1. uphold and act compatibly with the catholic and apostolic faith, order and tradition, and moral values and vision of humanity received by and developed in the fellowship of member churches; and
  2. primarily through its bishops, ensure that biblical texts are handled respectfully and coherently, building on our best traditions and scholarship believing that scriptural revelation must continue to illuminate, challenge and transform cultures, structures and ways of thinking.

Article 11: Sacramental Commitments

Each church shall:

  1. maintain and administer the sacraments of baptism and eucharist;
  2. welcome members of all other member churches to join in its own celebration of the sacraments; and
  3. enjoin its members to eucharistic sharing in a fellow church in accordance with the canonical discipline of that host church.

Article 12: Apostolic and Ministerial Commitments

Each church shall:

  1. uphold the historic threefold ministry of bishops, priests and deacons;
  2. recognise the canonical validity of orders duly conferred in every member church;
  3. welcome persons episcopally ordained in any member church to minister in the host church subject to the necessary consents required by and in accordance with the law of that church; and
  4. permit any person ordained in that church to seek ministry in any other member church subject to its law and discipline.

Article 13: Ministerial Obligations of Unity

  1. Each minister, especially a bishop, shall be a visible sign of unity and shall maintain communion within each church and between it, the See of Canterbury and all other Communion churches.
  2. No minister, especially a bishop, shall:
    • act without due regard to or jeopardise the unity of the Communion;
    • neglect to co-operate with ministers, especially bishops, of member churches for the good of the Communion and Church universal;
    • unreasonably be the cause or focus of division and strife in their church or elsewhere in the Communion;
    • if in episcopal office, unreasonably refuse any invitation to attend meetings of the Instruments of Unity.

Article 14: Hospitality and Availability of Ministrations

Each church shall:

  1. welcome members of every Communion church to share in the spiritual benefits, ministrations and worship available in that church in the manner prescribed by its law;
  2. provide, as practicable, for the pastoral care and wellbeing of any member of a fellow church during a visit to that church; and
  3. through the relevant authority, from time to time invite, as practicable, bishops of member churches to participate at ordinations administered in the host church as a sign of ecclesial unity and continuity.

Article 15: Commitments to Mission and Prayer

Each church shall:

  1. share in the mission of the Anglican Communion entrusted by Christ to his church in a common life of service;
  2. co-operate, so far as is practicable, with other member churches to develop a common understanding of mission and evangelism and to promote mission through practical schemes to serve the needs of the world;
  3. pray for the needs of and with fellow member churches and their faithful;
  4. offer its spiritual, intellectual, material and financial resources to assist with the needs of any other member church or of the Communion as a whole; and
  5. promote in theological education, an understanding of the relationships of communion between the member churches.

Article 16: The Bonds of Mutual Loyalty

Each church shall:

  1. in essential matters of common concern to the Communion place the interests and needs of the community of member churches before its own;
  2. in such cases, make every effort to resolve disputes by reconciliation, mediation or other amicable and equitable means;
  3. respect the counsels of the Archbishop of Canterbury, Primates' Meeting, Lambeth Conference, and Anglican [Communion] Council; and
  4. respect the principles of canon law common to the churches of the Anglican Communion.

Article 17: Ecumenical Commitments

Each church recognises that:

  1. if a member church enters a relation of communion with a non-member church, this effects a relationship between each member church and the non-member to the extent provided in our laws and the regulatory instruments of the ecumenical partner; and
  2. before a member church enters any agreement with a non-member church, that church shall consult the appropriate Instrument of Unity.