Provincial Directory: The Church in the Province of the West Indies


Map and Statistics

Geographical Area:276,910 Sq Km


The West Indies became a self-governing Province of the worldwide Anglican Communion in 1883 because of the Church of England missions in territories that became British colonies. It is made up of two mainland dioceses and six island dioceses, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana, Jamaica, Nassau and the Bahamas, Tobago, Trinidad, and the Windward Islands. Great emphasis is being placed on training personnel for an indigenous ministry. The island locations and scattered settlements make pastoral care difficult and costly.


Primate:The Most Revd & The Hon Dr John Holder

Provincial Secretary: Mrs Elenor Lawrence


Jamaica & The Cayman Islands
Nassau & The Bahamas
North Eastern Caribbean & Aruba
Trinidad & Tobago
Windward Islands

More information & links within The Church in the Province of the West Indies:

Mission Organisations
Theological Colleges