Unity Faith and Order - Dialogues - Anglican Orthodox

International Commission of the Anglican-Orthodox Theological Dialogue

September 2010 Communiqué
Oxford, England, United Kingdom

Click for Hi-Res Image
Commission Members
Photo Credit: ACO

Under the blessing and guidance of God, the All Holy and Blessed Trinity, the International Commission for Anglican-Orthodox Theological Dialogue met in Oxford, from Tuesday 31 August to Tuesday 7 September 2010, at Christ Church. The Commission was grateful for the hospitality offered by the Anglican Communion.

The participants were welcomed to Oxford by Archbishop Gregorios of Thyateira and Great Britain, the Very Revd Christopher Lewis, Dean of Christ Church, and Dr Colin Thompson, the Senior Proctor of the University of Oxford.

The Dialogue consists of official representatives of the Orthodox Church and of the Anglican Communion. It began its work in Oxford in 1973. Previous sessions of the Commission have resulted in the Moscow Agreed Statement of 1976, and the Dublin Agreed Statement of 1984, and in the Cyprus Agreed Statement of 2006, entitled The Church of the Triune God.

The Commission in its current phase begun in 2008 is focussing on Christian anthropology, seeking to build on the insights from the Cyprus Agreed Statement. Papers were given to clarify Anglican and Orthodox approaches to the question. Particular topics covered were the human being as the image and likeness of God, meanings of human freedom, the human being in the understanding of patristic anthropology and modern Orthodox theology, Anglican theological methodology, and the broader implications of the theology of the human person in politics and society, and in pastoral responsibility for God’s creation.

Members welcomed Dr Rowan Williams, the Archbishop of Canterbury, who spoke on Richard Hooker’s theological anthropology and its influence on Anglican theology.  Members also were grateful both for his presence at Orthodox Vespers, and as president and preacher at the Eucharist in the Anglican Cathedral. He also engaged in further discussions on current developments in the Anglican Communion, and affirmed the importance of the continuing work of the Dialogue. All members greatly appreciated the opportunity to listen and converse with the Archbishop.

The work of the Dialogue was undergirded by daily prayer, including a memorial service for Professor Constantine Scouteris, a former member of the Commission. Members attended services at the Orthodox Church of the Holy Trinity and the Annunciation, and at Christ Church Cathedral. On the occasion of its 50th anniversary, the House of Saint Gregory and Saint Macrina hosted members of the Commission at an evening reception.

Members enjoyed visiting important institutions in Oxford, including the Bodleian Library, the Ashmolean Museum, and several historic colleges.

Throughout its sessions the Commission affirmed the dignity and potential of the human person in God’s love, which offers hope in the face of a prevailing narrow and pessimistic secularism.

At the invitation of Archbishop Anastasios of Tirana and All Albania, the Commission will next meet in Albania, from 16 to 23 September 2011.

Metropolitan Kallistos of Diokleia
Orthodox Co-Chairman
Archbishop Roger Herft
Anglican Co-Chairman


Oxford, Tuesday 7 September 2010


Commission Members present were:

Representatives of the Orthodox Church Representatives of the Anglican Communion
Metropolitan Kallistos of Diokleia (Ecumenical Patriarchate) (Co-chairman)
Metropolitan Seraphim of Johannesburg (Patriarchate of Alexandria)
The Revd Fr Alexander Haig (Patriarchate of Antioch)
The Revd Dr George Dion Dragas (Patriarchate of Jerusalem)
The Revd Dr Cyril Hovorun (Patriarchate of Moscow)
Professor Dr Bogdan Lubardic (Patriarchate of Serbia)
Metropolitan Nifon of Târgoviste (Patriarchate of Romania)
The Revd Dr Giorgi Zviadadze (Patriarchate of Georgia)
Metropolitan Chrysostomos of Kition (Church of Cyprus)
Professor Dr Miltiadis Konstantinou (Church of Greece)
Bishop Ilia of Philomelion (Church of Albania)
The Revd Dr Christos B Christakis (Co-Secretary)
Archbishop Roger Herft (The Anglican Church of Australia) (Co-Chairman)
The Revd Dr Timothy Bradshaw (The Church of England)
The Revd Canon Jonathan Goodall (Archbishop of Canterbury's Representative)
The Revd Deacon Dr Christine Hall (The Church of England)
The Revd Canon Philip Hobson OGS (The Anglican Church of Canada)
Ms Natasha Klukach (The Anglican Church of Canada)
Bishop Michael Lewis of Cyprus & the Gulf (The Episcopal Church in Jerusalem & the Middle East)
The Revd Dr Gloria Mapangdol (The Episcopal Church in the Philippines)
The Revd Dr Duncan Reid (The Anglican Church of Australia)
The Revd Canon Professor John Riches (Scottish Episcopal Church)
Bishop John Stroyan of Warwick (The Church of England)
The Revd Canon Dr Alyson Barnett-Cowan (Co-secretary)
Mr Neil Vigers (Staff - Anglican Communion Office)
Member unable to attend:
The Revd Joseph Wandera (The Anglican Church of Kenya)

The Commission is grateful to past members of this phase of the Commission for their contributions, including Metropolitan Petros of Aksum, the late Professor Constantine Scouteris, Assistant Bishop William Gregg of North Carolina, and the Revd Dr Tom Ferguson.

Papers submitted to the Oxford meeting:
Two Meanings of Freedom in the Eastern Patristic Tradition – The Revd Cyril Hovorun
Articulating the Paradigm: Anglican Theological Method – The Revd Dr Duncan Reid
‘What is a human being’ according to modern Orthodox Theologians –Professor  Bogdan Lubardic
What is a human being? An Initial Approach to Patristic Theology – Fr George Dragas
Human Responsibility for the Creation: a Critical Overview of recent statements of the Orthodox Church – Fr Christos B. Christakis
Anglican Political Thought – Professor Tim Gorringe

Bibliographical papers on the theology of the environment.
Anglican – The Revd Dr Christine Hall
Orthodox – The Revd Dr Christos B. Christakis

The Commission expressed thanks to the Revd Professor Tim Gorringe of Exeter University for his paper.